Header image


Dr. Winnie Ye, P.Eng., SMIEEE
Canada Research Chair
Associate Professor
Department of Electronics, ME5170
1125 Colonel By Drive, Ottawa, ON K1S 5B6
Tel: (613) 520 2600 x8395
Fax: (613) 520 5708
winnie_ye AT carleton.ca

Positions Available!
See information here.

Welcome to the Silicon Micro/NanoPhotonics Group!

Dr. Winnie Ye is a Canada Research Chair (Tier II) in Nano-scale IC Design for Reliable Opto-Electronics and Sensors. She is currently an Associate Professor in the Department of Electronics at Carleton University. Her expertise is in silicon photonics and its applications in biophotonics, telecommunications, and renewable energy. Dr. Ye received her B.Eng. degree in Electrical Engineering from Carleton University. She then studied Photonics and received her M.A.Sc. and Ph.D degree in Electrical and Computer Engineering from the University of Toronto and Carleton University, respectively. After working with the Silicon Photonics/Optoelectronics team at the National Research Council (NRC) during her Ph.D. program, she joined Prof. Lionel Kimerling's laboratory at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) and Prof. Kenneth Crozier's laboratory at the Harvard University as a NSERC postdoctoral fellow to work on opto-electronic integration and silicon nanofabrication. Dr. Ye returned to Canada in 2009. She is the recipient of MRI's Early Researcher Award (ERA) in 2012, and the Research Achievement Award from Carleton University in 2013. Recently, she won the 2018 IEEE Women in Engineering (WIE) Inspiring Member Award, the 2018 Engineering Medal for Research and Development from the Ontario Professional Engineers (PEO), as well as the PEO Ottawa Chapter's 2018 Engineering Excellence Award. Dr. Ye is the elected Chair of the IEEE Ottawa Section.

Research interests:

Silicon-based micro- and nano-photonics and applications in 4 key application areas: telecommunications, data communications, sensing, and solar photovoltaics:

More details can be found at the link to my Research page.